Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Toshiba Satellite C55D-A5240NR 15.6-Inch Laptop (Satin Black in Trax Horizon) Reviews and Coupon

Reviews & Coupon & Prices ...
List Price: $379.99
Price: $359.99
You Save: $20.00 (5%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

One month after purchase

I did a lot of research and comparing before I chose this laptop. I was skeptical about Windows 8 but after a little time I learned what I needed to know and now and again still... Read more

Published 1 day ago by Julio Servin

Windows 8 is awful.

Do not like Windows 8 and the speakers are very weak. This is my second Toshiba laptop and both had very poor speakers. Read more

Published 3 days ago by James Ryan

junk

I bought this computer because it got good reviews. what a piece of crap save your money buy a good computer. Read more

Published 3 days ago by jay h

Great casual laptop for a great price.

Overall, this laptop functions very well. This laptop is not for gaming or anything special, if you're looking for that then you will be let down. Read more

Published 4 days ago by christian gonzales

Slow and inefficient at everything

This computer was totally terrible. My four year old laptop died and I ordered this as a replacement. It comes standard with Windows 8 and bloatware, as to be expected. Read more

Published 4 days ago by Jeffrey S. Shutterly

Excellent buy

loved it - all the features I need for the perfect price- really can't find anything wrong with it to report - buy this item.

Published 4 days ago by Bassam Hassan

Good laptop for office use & fast shipping

Good laptop for office use. The CPU speed is a little low but its okay for office use.
Fast shipping till Suriname.

Published 4 days ago by Ronny

Great Laptop!

It works great and I love the windows 8. It is definitely not the fastest laptop around but it I love it, especially how I'm in school and I need a reliable laptop. Read more

Published 5 days ago by Andrea

Very Nice laptop

Just to get this straight, this is not at all a gaming laptop.. I just got this computer about 30 minutes ago, and im already pretty impressed by it, I absolutely love this... Read more

Published 8 days ago by Leeran F

Perfect laptop for my needs

I love the Toshiba brand - my last Toshiba laptop served me well over 6 years . No problems with Windows 8 .Very easy to learn . Read more

Published 8 days ago by fareedrajack


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Thin, lightweight, and upgradeable to 16GB of memoryAugust 24, 2013

By Andrea Polk TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE

The Toshiba Satellite C55D-A5240NR is an inexpensive laptop with an AMD processor and 4GB of memory, running Windows 8 64-bit as an operating system. Frankly, the downfall in this configuration is the 4GB of memory, but this can be remedied, as can the lack of Bluetooth.

For someone who isn't into games requiring fast, responsive graphics, this basic laptop would be a good choice. Good build quality, nice 15.6" display (1366x768 (HD), 16:9 aspect ratio, Supports 720p content), built-in media card reader, lightweight body (only 5.2 pounds) and the perks of HDMI, webcam with built-in microphone, and (1) USB 3.0 (you also have 2 USB 2.0) made me smile. The inclusion of the DVD drive (often omitted on lightweight laptops these days) was also a nice perk.

Toshiba says it has 'enhanced sound', but I didn't notice this to be the case. I added speakers via the line-in port (used for headphones), and later decided to add a Kinivo BTD-300 Bluetooth 3.0 USB adapter - For Windows 8 / Windows 7 / Windows XP / Vista, Mac OS 10.3.9 or Later, which is a cheap addition that gives this laptop the Bluetooth capabilities it lacks out of the box.

I then added Bluetooth speakers for additional 'enhanced sound' that made me happy. My speaker choices:
... Read more ›

56 of 62 people found the following review helpful

Very good rate quality/price July 29, 2013

By Jonathan

Amazon Verified Purchase

I only wanted a laptop to use gmail, facebook, spotify, netflix, office, skype... You can use all this stuff with this Toshiba without problems. Windows 8 was hard at first, but now I get used to it. Buy this laptop and save your money for a trip. It also has an USB 3.0 port, a HDMI port and a DVD device.

91 of 108 people found the following review helpful

so far so good July 5, 2013

By reisima

Amazon Verified Purchase

We talked with a computer guy and this had everything we were looking for. We would've preferred windows 7 since everyone complains about windows 8 but really after messing around a bit with it, its not that bad if your a techy person. If your not comfortable with tablets and smart phones then i would stay a way a look for a windows 7 computer. This was easy to set up and it has a desktop app which is nice just missing the start button so it still is different than your usual desktop.

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Great for basic computer use. The good price makes it worth it. August 22, 2013

By Darrell Berry

Amazon Verified Purchase

This is a really nice computer for the basic, every day tasks that someone would want to do. Browsing the web, checking email, typing up documents, chatting on Skype. Everyday task like these are what this computer is for. Don't buy this computer and expect high speed video editing and rendering, or high-end gaming because this won't do you any good. It does have an AMD Radeon 7310 graphics card, so it can do very, very light gaming, but I would not just purchase this computer just for that purpose. The CPU is a dual core running at 1.4 ghz, so it's not the fastest processor for gaming. I personally think the speakers sound a bit low also.

So what are the pros of this laptop? It's very inexpensive compared to other laptops made for the same purpose. It's lightweight, and has an impressive battery life for a laptop. The keyboard is awesome, sleek, and very comfortable to type on. A very spacey 500GB hard drive makes for a lot of storage. Although, there are many people who despise Windows 8, I actually like it. The apps are a nice touch, and there's still the traditional desktop view everyone is familiar with. Yes, it takes awhile to get used to, but once you do, it's a cool operating system. Not to mention, very quick boot up and shut down times. It comes with fast, UBS 3.0, an HDMI out port to connect to your HD television or monitor, and a nice HD display. At $330.00, this computer is a great deal.

31 of 40 people found the following review helpful

My Laptop August 5, 2013

By Kay

Amazon Verified Purchase

This laptop was a pain at first. The Windows 8 was hard to figure out, especially with no detailed instructions how to use the new Windows 8. I couldn't find anything. I took a couple of days just looking through everything and figuring it all out. A friend gave me some pointers, too. I didn't like it, and still would rather have a different Windows; but, I have gotten used to it. The IE10 was a disaster. I think it had a bug in it or something. Wouldn't let me go on websites and kept telling me that the script was too long. Ads kept coming up that didn't look trust worthy, even from Norton(?). I finally deleted it from my desktop. Kept it in the C drive just to make sure there weren't files I needed. Hope it's contained there and won't escape. I had to download Firefox and that works so much better. Sorry IE, I've always used it, but now I have to use Firefox. Now that I have arranged things, deleted a lot of the Tiles, downloaded a Start Button and just plain made it mine, I do like it. Not the fastest one around, should have bought one that had a faster processor. But, it's ok and I have begun to enjoy it. If I were to buy another one, as I said, i'd buy a faster one.


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save $15 on Microsoft Office, with the purchase of a PC or Mac $200 or more. Learn more


Product Description

Amazon.com

Satellite

Value and Versatility in One.

Visit the complete lineup of Toshiba products at www.amazon.com/toshiba

Equiped with essentials so it's READY FOR ANYTHING Sattellite

The Satellite® C55D-A5240NR fulfills all of your fundamental computing needs in an elegant, portable package. No overpriced, overhyped technologies — just the most useful features like built-in WiFi® for checking email, keeping up with social media, video chatting and browsing the web at an accessible price. With its DVD player, 15.6" screen, comfortable keyboard and stereo speakers, this multitasking machine will reliably meet all of your needs, whether you're researching a project for work or just watching a movie for fun.

Common sense pricing for EVERYDAY CONNECTIVITY Sattellite
WIRELESS MADE EFFORTLESS

Built-in Wi-Fi® lets you stay connected to work, play, friends and family without being tethered to a cable or cord.

LIVE WEBCAM

Turn emails and instant messages into face-to-face conversations with a seamlessly integrated high-definition webcam.

UNIQUELY CAPABLE USB

Use external devices like portable flash drives to share files quickly and easily with three self-powered ports: one with USB 3.0 and two with USB 2.0.

Designed for FUNCTIONAL STYLE Sattellite
HIGH-DEFINITION DISPLAY

View text, photos and movies in vivid color with a 15.6" HD TruBrite® display.

FUTURISTIC FINISHES

The Satellite® C55D-A5240NR comes in Satin Black with a Trax texture, making it just as handsome as it is functional.

MORE CAPABLE CONTROLS

Maintain quick, intuitive control over your laptop commands with a large touchpad featuring gesture recognition and a comfortable keyboard with a 10-key extension.

Designed for a fuller ENTERTAINMENT EXPERIENCE Sattellite
MOVIES ON THE MOVE

Watch your favorite films wherever you go with an on-board DVD drive that can also be used for sharing files and backing up your data.

DIGITAL THEATER SOUND

Enjoy enhanced audio from stereo speakers equipped with DTS Sound.

HDTV COMPATIBILITY

An integrated HDMI® port makes it easy to super size your entertainment by connecting to your big-screen TV.

Powerful choices to FUEL YOUR PRODUCTIVITY Sattellite
RAPID AND RELIABLE

Get the responsive performance you need to run today's most popular software applications with an AMD Dual-Core processor.

PHOTO-FRIENDLY MEDIA READER

Download photos from your camera quickly and easily with a convenient, built-in media card reader.

ROOM TO STORE

Safely store and easily access all your videos, photos, music and other documents on a generous 500GB (5400 RPM) Serial ATA hard drive.




©2013 Toshiba America Information Systems, Inc. Satellite is a registered trademark or trademark of Toshiba America Information Systems, Inc. and/or Toshiba Corporation. ©2013 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. All rights reserved. AMD, the AMD Arrow logo and combinations thereof are trademarks of Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. in the United States and/or other jurisdictions. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Product specifications, configurations, prices, system/component/options availability are all subject to change without notice. All rights reserved.

Product Description

Toshiba Satellite C55D-A5240NR
www.computersaccessoriesreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.